KampusMe
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Access to Funding Will Aid Women Doing Business

Go down

Access to Funding Will Aid Women Doing Business Empty Access to Funding Will Aid Women Doing Business

The Founder Exotique Cakes, Ms. Efua Olumide, is a graduate of accounting from the University of Benin (UNIBEN), who fell in love with cake making. A business she started with N250.00 20 years ago in a small shop has grown beyond just cake making to training institute. In this interview, Efua explores issues bordering entrepreneurship in the country and how they are likely to survive the operating environment.

Background

I am a graduate of accounting from the University of Benin with a passion for cooking. Before my university education, I went for one year catering and hotel management course at the Nigerian Hotels Catering School, Club Road, Ikoyi, where I fell in love with cakes, after one of the last classes we had in cake decorating.

After my graduation, I decided to start baking knowing full well that I couldn't work for anybody about 20 years ago.

I started with N250 and I didn't have much support from my daddy unlike. My daddy is a chartered accountant who had his own accounting firm and he believed I should have joined the firm as an accountant, but I didn't, to him then, cake making was nothing, it was as if you are that woman on the street frying Bean cake (Akara) by the roadside.

I did not have much to invest in terms of buying half bag of flour but one thing I kept doing was that anytime they pay me, I use part of the money to buy second hand books, I kept reading and improving myself and that was how the cake business started.

The name Exotique